Football

‘Iceman’ Lindelof looking to develop under Jose Mourinho

Manchester United new signing, Victor Lindelof, says he cannot wait to develop under the guidance of manager, Jose Mourinho.

Lindelof
Victor Lindelof

 

The 23-year-old signing from Benfica, arrived for an initial fee of €35m, but the deal could still increase by a further €10m depending on performance-related clauses.

“[Mourinho] is a very good manager. I like him a lot,” he told PA. “He helped the players a lot when you speak to them, so I think I am going to develop a lot under him.

Lindelof, who came close to joining the Red Devils last winter, became United’s first signing of the summer, after completing his move to Old Trafford.

Currently with United in their preseason tour of the US, the Sweden international says his team mates are helping him settle in well.

“There was a lot of talk and in the end I am here – and I am very happy to be here,” he said.

“It has been good. All the lads in the team are helping a lot, so I am settling in quite good.

“It’s just been a week since we started training and played some games. It has been alright – I’m getting into it better and better every day.

The versatile defender, who is nicknamed ‘the iceman’ also says that United has only one goal next season and that’s to win.

“I know it is going to be a tough season but we want to play as good as possible and win as many games as we can,” said Lindelof.

“That’s the main goal but it is early in the season. We’re preparing ourselves but our main goal is to win as many games as possible,” he added.