Gist, Vibz

Man refunds N7.3 million mistakenly transferred to his bank account

On the 15th of August 2017, a Nigerian surprised everyone when he decided to refund the sum of N73million mistakenly transferred to his Diamond bank account.

The young Nigerian, who could only be identified as Uncle Jay (@Raynergy), took to his twitter social media handle to cry out to the bank official twitter handle after waiting 24 hours for the bank to withdraw the money back but they failed to.

His tweet reads;

Dear @DiamondBankNG exactly at this time yesterday 7,310,000.00, seven million three hundred and ten thousand was transferred to my account.

The transfer was made by a company. It’s exactly 24 hours & I have not been contacted. The money is not mine and I want it out of my account. Please follow back so I can DM my account information and any other details you may require. Thank you.

Let me also reiterate that the bank or the customer did not contact me. I had waited for 24 hours hoping either would but none did. I had to escalate here on twitter and also visit the closest branch to request for the reversal of the erroneous credit transfer.

I have just been contacted by a staff and the BM of the branch which my account is domiciled. I have been debbited accordingly. CASE CLOSED. The moment I got the credit alert, the next thing I thought of was returning it, I never thought otherwise, it wasn’t even a hard decision.

His decision raised a lot of dust on the social media platform, and here are some of them below.